America 101

If you are a Scandinavian,  you don't need a visa.  You simply fill out an online-form called Esta and then you pay. 
Or so I thought. 
I missed the "you also need to have a returnticket so we know you won't stay and work illegally ". Hence,  I arrived in Chicago and had a talk with the police for 2 hours. 
"So - WHY would you not book a ticket home? "
"I COULD SEND YOU HOME RIGHT NOW KIDDO! " (After this I started stammering when I replied. )
"What does your father do for a living?  How much does he earn?"
"You're visiting a friend who bakes bagels for a living. So how much money does this friend earn?"
"They shouldn't have let you on the plane. "
And then,  finally:
"OK. Don't do this again.  DO...  NOT..  WORK.  Book a flight home. Enjoy your stay! " (Then he smiled and I could start breathing again, so I suspect that really,  he was one of the nice guys. )
 
Now,  to an even greater problem,  how does one feed oneself when the oven looks like this? How do I turn it on?  
Well played,  Michigan. 
 
Allmänt | |
#1 - - Ikis:

Oj oj, du lär så länge du lever. Även jag med, skulle berättat innan du åkte att du måste ha en adress att uppge och en hembiljett. Men nu så här långt har jag tyvärr inga mer råd att ge dig. Blev det någon mat? Kram

Svar: Ja! Jag fick hjälp tillslut;)
sesigom.blogg.se

Upp